Principal Investigator 

Cindy (Xiangjia) Li

Assistant Professor

Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

551 E Tyler Mall, ERC 457

Tempe, AZ 85281


Tel: (480) 727-8612   


Ph.D.  in Industrial & Systems Engineering, University of Southern California

M.S.  in Computer Science, University of Southern California

M.S. in Manufacturing Engineering, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China​

B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and Automation, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China​

Research interests

Novel Additive Manufacturing Process Development

New solid freeform fabrication process investigation for multi-scale and multi-material manufacturing

Biomimetic Functional Structures and Material Fabrication via Advanced Manufacturing

Develop design and manufacturing methodologies for functional devices with biomimetic hierarchical structures

Bio-Printing of Medical Device for Healthcare

Design and manufacturing of next-generation medical implants and drug delivery device

Lab Members

Ph.D. students

Yizhen Zhu

(Mechanical Engineering)

Research topic: Biomimetic additive manufacturing 

process development

Master students

Shreya Reddy (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Bhushan Ahire (Major: Manufacturing Engineering)

Krishna Koparde (Major: Manufacturing Engineering)

Xiaotian Shen (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Aaditya Rajendra Raje (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Sanjay Keshava Murthy (Major: Mechanical Engineering)

Undergraduate students

Dylan Joralmon (Major: Aerospace Engineering)

Joshua Blair (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


John Hutchins (Major: Mechanical Engineering)

Zachary Poit (Major: Mechanical Engineering)

Before joining ASU
Master students

Haozhe Zi (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Xuan Zheng (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Benshuai Xie (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Yue Wang (Major: Mechanical Engineering)


Jonghan Lim (Major: Manufacturing Engineering)


Zixuan Huang (Major: Material Science)


Qiyuan Zhang (Major: Material Science)


Luyang Liu (Major: Material Science)

Ming Chu (Major: Material Science)


Fugue Lei (Major: Material Science)


Chaoran Lu (Major: Chemical Engineering)


Weitong Shan (Material Science)


Siyang Hao (Mechanical Engineering)


Jiahui Rong (Mechanical Engineering)


Hanyu Zhao (Mechanical Engineering)

High school students

Maggie Shi, Steven Li


Website by Xiangjia Li

  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn